“But still, I find the need to remind myself of the temporariness of a day, to reassure myself that I got through yesterday, I’ll get through today.”

In my last “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading” post, I talked about the book I was recently reading! I decided to read the second and last series of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay novel, Where She Went.

 

8492825
Retrieved from Goodreads.com

WARNING ALERT (Of the first book)

 

The 268-page novel related the story 3 years after the awakening of Mia, after loosing all her family in a car accident. She left Portland, then Adam, studies a Juilliard and never looked back again. Shooting Star has become an international group and in the classical side, Mia has become a young virtuoso cellist. One evening, Adam passes in front of the Carnegie Hall in New York City and sees Mia on a poster. He has not seen her for 3 years and decides to attend the concert.

“Her eyes were open, then on me again like they never left.”

The story relates their encountering and how did they both live their time apart, leading you to the constant desire to see them go back together.

END OF SPOILER

First of all, it must be said that the two volumes of this series are very different, which was not especially a bad thing! The first difference is the narrator, we are plunged into Mia’s head in the first series while in the second one, we are in Adam’s head. This may sound a bit confusing, but in fact Gayle Forman has made a wise choice: in this way, she renews her story and tells it from an equally interesting point of view, it gives a richest understanding of both characters. After Mia has lost all her family members, we wonder what someone close but outside of the family can feel, how it affects them, and in this case, it was Adam after the accident. He learned how to live without Mia too, who has dropped her boyfriend without a word.

“But I’m still standing. I’m still breathing. And somehow, I’m okay.”

Adam still loves her and can not forget the promise he made at the end of the first book while she was in coma after writing her a song, that he would do anything for her.

giphy-1
Retrieved from Giphy.com

 

Since Mia is no longer the story-teller, we have a detachment from her, and above all her past behavior makes her the “bad guy” of the story even though she has also experienced extremely difficult moments. But as they say, the absent are always wrong, and through the memories of Adam, his feelings and his despair, we can understand and feel more empathy for Adam than  for Mia.

The book is therefore a bitter-bitter ballad through Adam’s life and his relationship with Mia that he really has in his skin, for better and worse. This story represents absolute love, it is sad, it squeezes the heart, but it is also very beautiful and the fragile hope that Adam keeps deep inside of him.

giphy
Retrieved from Giphy.com

 

The novel has an emotional significance, it is more powerful than the first book, Where She Went is a wonderful story of love carried by a hero who places himself among my favorites and for whom I wish all the happiness he deserves!

It is a beautiful dive into emotions and feelings. For these who loved the first novel of movie of If I Stay, I completely recommend you to read this book to give a perfect closure to a terrible experience where love can triumph. If you haven’t read the novel or seen the first movie, then do it fast! You’re missing a lot.

Thank you for giving me such a wonderful reading, Gayle Forman.

WORD COUNT: 574

