while i was away

I’ve learned to not question things.

It’s easy with things like bus rides. Where maybe you have to switch routes three times but usually if you’re patient, you’ll get there. Or food; “this tastes good but I definitely don’t want to know what is in it” is something I have said maybe a little too often.

But sometimes it gets much harder to not questions things. As a white feminist from the western world, I want to point out the systematic sexism crippling so many societies. In Myanmar, women aren’t allowed to touch many of the most religious rights. In Vietnam, men choose their wives often through a kidnapping process. In Morocco it is rare to see a woman wandering the streets, particularly in the smaller towns.

Parts of me want to question everything I see. I want to point out that maintaining discrimination at a UNESCO World Heritage site…

View original post 690 more words

