“Whoever said that the past isn’t dead had it backward. It’s the future that’s already dead, already played out.”

giphy
Retrieved from Giphy.com

Some years ago, I read the book of Gayle Forman, If I Stay, which was later adapted to the cinema. Lazy as I am, I was waiting for another movie to go out instead of reading the next book.

8492825
Retrieved from Goodreads.com

However, that day never came. Last weekend I watched the movie with my sister again and decided it was time to start reading to see what happened to the poor Mia, the adolescent who lost her parents and her brother on a car accident in the first book.

In the same way, I wanted to know if she finally ended up in a good note with her boyfriend, Adam, with who she shared the passion of music. So I started reading the 210-page book Where She Went, which is the second and last of the serie.

SPOILER ALERT

So far on my reading, I learned that 3 years after the accident, Adam became a famous rock artist followed everywhere by paparazzis, suffocated by the pressure of his managers and producers who want to release a new album.

In the same way, Mia became famous in the classic music surroundings. We also learn that after loosing her family she moved with her grandparents until graduation, and later went to New York City to study at Juilliard where she continued playing the cello.

“It would’ve been easier to die. It’s not that I want to be dead now. I don’t. I have a lot in my life that I get satisfaction from, that I love. But some days, especially in the beginning, it was so hard. And I couldn’t help but think that it would’ve been so much simpler to go with the rest of them. But you—you asked me to stay. You begged me to stay. You stood over me and you made a promise to me, as sacred as any vow.”

I am already a halfway on my writing of the book, so on page 96, they still just talked to each other but many flashbacks remember the few moments they shared after the first book, when Mia woke up from her coma after Adam promised he would never leave her if she woke up. She suffered from many operations and rehabilitation, but kept on with her life, without looking back on her painful past.

The first book was written with the point off view of Mia, however, this one is written with the point of view of Adam, which gives a complete turnaround from what we were expecting. I think it is really smart and wise to have made that choice since it makes us discover the two character completely, each one has a book dedicated on their mind and soul.

I found in this book a different Adam from the leader of a band we were used to see: he is lost, distant and empty after what happened to him three years ago. Fame doesn’t seem to complete him.

giphy-1
Retrieved from Giphy.com

In a stop during his tour around the world with his band in New York City, he decides to go to a cello concert performed by Mia.

I haven’t finished my reading, but so far I am really liking it! It is interesting and gives a completely different perspective. In addition, it is realistic. After the death of her family, we all thought all the problems she had with Adam during the first book would be solved and that they would be there for each other, that tragedy would bring them together. However, this book shows the reality of grief, and how hard but inevitable was for Mia to keep going forward with her life.

I will soon post my reviews… I already can anticipate positive arguments!

 

WORD COUNT: 503

